Wheel Of Fortune: It used to be a better game show, now it’s a better life

Dan Hamilton
2 min readJun 9, 2023

--

To be honest, I’m not sure if that title is a great fit for the theme of this article but I like to put in Jerry Maguire references whenever possible. The point is that since I was a small child one of the biggest dreams of my life was to be on a game show. When I was in elementary school I used to read the world almanac and remember all the world capitals (remember how much time we used to have?) and every night at 530pm I would watch *Rockapella Voice* Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? *end voice*

One day I managed to look up online how to apply to this show. In response, I wrote what I’m sure is a more legible letter than this blog post, put on a postage stamp and walked my greyhound aplomb down to the mailbox and dropped it in. (That last part was just to explain to Gen Z how mail used to work). About a month later they responded that as much as my enthusiasm was greatly appreciated I had to be a resident of New York to be a contestant on that show. Well, let me tell you 30 years later this whole ordeal just happened to me… AGAIN!!

I subscribe to a fun newsletter that posts openings on reality shows and game shows called Backstage.

https://www.backstage.com/newsletter/

It posted that they were looking for contestants for Wheel Of Fortune. Finally! My dream could come true. So I went onto the site, filled out the form, however when I got to the section on state/province this happened…

AGHAST!! Once again I am denied my God-given right to appear on a game show. It will have to wait. I also once tried to apply for Supermarket Sweep however also they would not take Canadian entrants. Maybe I should study for Jeopardy, anyways look for my ongoing search for a game show appearance here on this blog and keep one eye open on tv.

--

--